The fair-priced Issuu alternative
publishers actually switch to
Three times the pages per publication on the free plan. No ads shown to your readers, ever. Accessibility designed for WCAG 2.2 AA on every plan. And a Price Lock Pledge that means your paid rate never quietly doubles.
Used by publishers, educators and businesses
Side-by-side comparison
ZenFlip vs legacy flipbook platforms
An honest comparison of what you get — and what you don’t — on each platform. We’ve tried to be fair: where other platforms genuinely win, we say so.
| Feature | Legacy platforms (e.g. Issuu) | ZenFlip Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Free plan publications permanent, no time limit | 5 documents, 10 pages each | 5 publications, 30 pages each 3× the pages |
| Paid plan starting price | $21/mo (billed annually; $31 month-to-month) | $15/mo — billed annually ($18 month-to-month) |
| Price-lock commitment | None published | ✓ Price Lock Pledge — never increases without your consent |
| Annual billing discount | ~30% | Up to 20% |
| Free trial on paid plans | 7 days (Unlimited only) | 5 free publications forever — no trial needed |
| Core Features | ||
| PDF to flipbook conversion | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes — up to 1,000 pages on Business |
| Page-flip animation | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Embeddable viewer (iframe) | Paid plans only | ✓ Creator+ |
| Password protection | Paid plans only | ✓ Creator+ |
| Custom domain (CNAME) | Not stated on pricing page | ✓ Business+ |
| Remove platform branding | Unlimited plan and up | ✓ Creator+ |
| Analytics | ||
| View counts | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Page-level heatmaps see which pages readers engage with | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Creator+ Built in |
| Time spent per page | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Creator+ Built in |
| CSV / data export | Not stated on pricing page | ✓ Creator+ |
| Accessibility | ||
| Designed for WCAG 2.2 AA keyboard nav, screen reader support | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Every plan, by default Built in |
| ADA / Section 508 | ✗ Not listed | ✓ VPAT (WCAG 2.2 AA) available |
| Screen reader accessible text layer | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Automatic on publish |
| AI chat with the book readers ask questions, get cited answers — uses your own OpenAI API key | ✗ Not listed | ✓ All plans Built in |
| Text-to-Speech paragraph-aware reading aloud | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Paragraph-aware TTS Built in |
| Immersive Reader (dyslexia support) adjustable fonts, spacing, and contrast | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Built in Built in |
| Ads & Monetization | ||
| Direct-booked ad slots Sell ads to your own advertisers at your own rates | Not listed | ✓ Native ad stack (Business+) ZenFlip only |
| MRC-standard viewability ≥50% of pixels for ≥1s — the measurement Google & Meta use | Not listed | ✓ 50% / 1s (MRC) ZenFlip only |
| Advertiser portal (no logins) Signed-link URLs so advertisers see their own numbers without an account | Not listed | ✓ Signed links, no logins ZenFlip only |
| Audit-ready revenue ledger Tamper-evident seals for BPA-style audit trails. Learn more | Not listed | ✓ SHA-256 sealed periods ZenFlip only |
| Support | ||
| Free plan support | ✗ Community only | 24/7 email support |
| Paid plan support | Chat bot + ticket | ✓ 24/7 email; priority on Business |
| Free migration assistance | ✗ Not listed | ✓ Included |
| Response time (paid) | 24–72 hours | Guaranteed SLA on Enterprise |
Why publishers are switching
The problems that send
publishers looking for alternatives
Surprise price increases
Some flipbook platforms have raised their prices sharply over a few years — often with minimal notice — leaving publishers facing renewal bills far above the rate they signed up at.
ZenFlip: Price Lock Pledge
Your subscription rate will never increase without 90 days’ advance notice and your explicit consent. This is a binding commitment made in writing in our Terms of Service.
Accessibility left unstated
Many associations, government bodies, and educational institutions have legal obligations to make the content they publish accessible. Many flipbook platforms don’t state WCAG conformance on their pricing pages — leaving publishers to check with each vendor or fill that gap on their own.
ZenFlip: built to WCAG 2.2 AA
The ZenFlip reader is built natively to WCAG 2.2 AA — no third-party accessibility overlay. No configuration. No paid add-on. Full keyboard navigation, screen reader support, and a text accessibility layer — on every plan, including free. Contrast, alt text, and reading order inside your source document remain with you as the publisher.
Bot-only support
When something goes wrong — an important publication fails to process, a link breaks before a board presentation — being routed to a chatbot and a 72-hour ticket queue is a serious business problem.
ZenFlip: 24/7 email support on every plan
Every ZenFlip plan, including free, includes 24/7 email support. An AI assistant in your dashboard answers common questions instantly, and our team picks up the rest by email. Business adds priority support; Enterprise adds a guaranteed SLA and phone support.
Price comparison
What you pay — and
what you actually get
Comparing annual billing costs for publishers with a typical portfolio of 50–200 publications.
⚠ Billed annually (monthly: Starter $31, Unlimited $269, Teams from $595). Starter still shows third-party ads; only Unlimited removes them. No plan lists WCAG accessibility or page-level analytics. Prices vary by region.
✓ Monthly billing: Creator $18/mo, Business $49/mo. Accessibility and 24/7 email support on every plan. Price Lock Pledge on paid plans — your rate never increases without consent.
Comparing prices? See our full flipbook software pricing comparison →
Is this switch right for you?
Who should switch
to ZenFlip
Publishers who received a surprise price increase and are looking for a platform with a binding pricing commitment. ZenFlip’s Price Lock Pledge is written into our Terms of Service.
Associations, government bodies, and educational institutions who face legal accessibility obligations. The ZenFlip reader is built natively to WCAG 2.2 AA on every plan, and a VPAT is available; contrast, alt text, and reading order inside your documents stay with you.
Publishers frustrated with slow, ticket-queue support. Every ZenFlip plan includes 24/7 email support, with priority support on Business and a guaranteed SLA plus phone support on Enterprise.
Publishers who want real reader analytics — not just view counts. ZenFlip adds time-on-page data and page-level heatmaps on Creator.
Individuals and small teams who were pushed off a platform’s free tier and need a genuinely free, permanent home for up to 5 publications — with no time limits and no credit card required.
AI-powered reading experience
AI features built in
for every reader
Built-in AI features that make publications more accessible and more useful for every reader.
AI chat with the book
Readers can ask questions about your publication and receive answers grounded in the actual content — complete with page citations. Available on every plan when you connect your own OpenAI API key, with no message limits. Issuu’s pricing page lists no AI reader chat.
AI Vision Processing
ZenFlip uses AI vision to automatically generate descriptive alt text for images within your publications, giving screen reader users more context. Review the generated descriptions — accurate alt text and reading order in your publication remain the publisher’s responsibility.
TTS with source toggle
ZenFlip’s paragraph-aware Text-to-Speech reads your publication aloud with intelligent paragraph detection. Readers can switch between native browser voices and AI-enhanced voices for a more natural listening experience. Issuu’s pricing page lists no text-to-speech.
Ready to make the switch?
We’ll migrate your publications for free — same content, better platform.
Free forever plan · No credit card · Cancel anytime · Price Lock Pledge included
Common questions
Switching questions, answered
ZenFlip is the best free Issuu alternative in 2026. The Explorer plan gives you 5 permanent, free publications — the same count as Issuu’s free tier, but with up to 30 pages each instead of 10 — plus accessibility designed for WCAG 2.2 AA on every plan, no ads shown to your readers, and 24/7 email support. Paid plans start at $15/mo (billed annually) and include the Price Lock Pledge. No credit card required to start.
Most migrations are completed within 2–3 business days. For larger libraries (200+ publications), allow up to 5 business days. You don’t need to cancel your old subscription until you’ve verified every publication on ZenFlip and are confident in the switch.
Your old platform links will stop working when you cancel your old subscription — that’s unavoidable. However, ZenFlip will give you a new shareable URL and embed code for each publication. If you have a custom domain, you can configure it to point to your ZenFlip publications so the viewer URL stays consistent for your audience.
ZenFlip has more analytics than Issuu. Page-level view tracking is included on every plan; Creator adds time spent on each page, page-level heatmaps, and geographic and device data, and Business adds unlimited analytics history. Issuu’s pricing page doesn’t list time-on-page or page-level heatmaps on any plan, and keeps stats to 30 days on its free and Starter plans; all-time and location stats need Unlimited ($188/mo billed annually).
Yes. The Price Lock Pledge applies to every paid ZenFlip plan — Creator, Business, and Enterprise. Your rate is locked from the moment you subscribe. ZenFlip will never increase your price without 90 days’ written notice and your explicit consent. This commitment is written into our Terms of Service, not just a marketing promise.
Yes. ZenFlip includes AI chat with the book, which lets readers ask questions about the publication and get answers grounded in the actual content — available on every plan when you connect your own OpenAI API key, with no message limits. It also includes paragraph-aware Text-to-Speech (TTS) with both native browser voices and AI-enhanced voices, plus an Immersive Reader mode designed for readers with dyslexia. Issuu’s pricing page lists none of these features.
ZenFlip’s Explorer plan includes 5 free publications — permanently. There is no time limit, no credit card required, and no catch. Issuu’s free plan also allows 5 documents, but caps each at 10 pages and shows third-party ads; ZenFlip allows up to 30 pages and never shows ads. When you need more, Creator (from $15/mo, billed annually) allows 50 publications and Business is unlimited.